Serial Cannibalistic Cereal Killers?!

Sept. 19 9:15 a.m.

It’s a multiple-cup-of-coffee morning as once again I’m in a zombie like state because of insomnia last night. I was going to hit the couch but when the coffee kicked in, I decided to write instead of watching “Let’s Make a Deal” and “The Price is Right.” Yep, I’m one of those old farts who watches morning game shows but thankfully, I am not yet old enough to use a walk-in tub, Depends or Life Alert (I’m getting really sick of the walk-in tub commercials).

Speaking of commercials (I watch far too much TV), I find the Cinnamon Toast Crunch cereal commercials very disturbing. I just don’t want to eat anthropomorphic cereal “squares” that are cannibalistic. Who comes up with this crap?

cinnamon-toast-crunch-cannibal-commercials-2
The “square” on the right bears a striking resemblance to Miley Cyrus!

And, I’m getting really tired of Flo from the Progressive Insurance commercials and the General (another auto insurance commercial); however, like the Jack-in-the-Box guy, they have become advertising icons for the companies they “represent” and unfortunately, will be around for a while.

And, lastly, when will advertisers (who most likely are men) realize that they don’t have to feature women being overly physical in tampon commercials or magazine ads? I love the commercial where the gal is diving into a pool (upside down summersault with her butt in the air) – I keep waiting for her tampon to spurt out, but of course that wouldn’t happen with that brand of tampon because of the braided string (or something else). Here is a tampon ad I found in a magazine which also irks me:

pon2 002

Now, what woman, in her right mind, would wear a white bikini and play limbo while on her period (wearing a tampon of course)? When will advertisers learn that these types of ads evoke laughter or disdain instead of interest in the product?

After writing that, I am at a loss for more words, so this post will just have to be short and not so sweet. I’m getting hungry anyway — I think I’ll have some non-cannibalistic breakfast cereal . . .

4 thoughts on “Serial Cannibalistic Cereal Killers?!

Leave a Reply

