Blog Blind

Aug. 23 11:30 a.m.

I’m still trying to encourage some friends and relatives to read my blog and not only haven’t they read it, I am mystified by their lack of response to my requests (via email). It’s not like I’ve been demanding at all – in fact, I’ve been very delicate about asking. Maybe I should be more assertive but I don’t want to force anyone to read what I’ve written. The only thing worse than forced writing is forced reading.

It’s almost as if my friends and relatives read the entirety of my emails except for the part that says “check out my blog at WordPress if you have a chance” (I even include the link to make it easy). They respond to most of what I’ve written in my emails except the part about my blog. I don’t get any responses like “I’ll check out your blog when I have more time,” or “I’m busy but I’ll read it soon.” It’s as if once they read the word “blog” they literally become “blog blind” and cannot read the rest of the sentence.

I’ve been trying to figure out this lack of response as I don’t really put much credence in my “blog blinded” theory. Perhaps they just don’t know how to say “I’m not interested,” or maybe they have read some of my posts, don’t like what they’ve read and don’t want to tell me. I would welcome any feedback, positive or negative, but what is really puzzling is not so much why they don’t read my blog, but why they don’t say anything at all about it.

Well, I guess I shouldn’t dwell on their lack of interest as I always have my fellow WordPress writers and a few of my friends and relatives who follow my blog and enjoy reading my posts. I just wish that more of the people who are closest to me would take the time to check it out or at least say “I’m glad you are writing again.” I know that if someone I knew asked me to read their blog, I would in an instant. Of course, I am an overly curious busy body at heart.

Well, at least the lack of response to my requests doesn’t disappoint me anymore. Now I am just downright perplexed.

10 thoughts on “Blog Blind

  1. Alison Doherty

    I understand. It’s hard to wrap your mind around the fact that strangers on the internet might read your blog more faithfully than your loved ones, but that has definitely been my experience.

    Reply
  2. edimminger

    Just so you know I did read one of your blogs to your Mom. She really enjoyed it- it was the one about the segues- I even showed her the pictures. Social media helps- get on twitter and facebook and find other writers. Put your blog in other people’s comments sections. I put mine in the bloggess’s comments all the time. Your voice will spread. Let me know if I can help!

    Reply
    1. debblogs Post author

      I am still a bit apprehensive about the social media route but when I get up the nerve, I’ll take you up on your offer. Glad Mom liked my “Segway” post; I’ve been meaning to send her some of my blog posts, but I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

      Reply
  3. Janice Chew

    Deb, I read every blog and my response is I am so at ahhhhhh with your words and writing. I have one question??? When will u be visiting your mom? U have not answers that! Miss you and love you bunches my long time friend of over : 50 : …. Years

    Reply
  4. debblogs Post author

    I know you do and I can’t put into words (that’s a first) how happy that makes me. I’ll let you know about my next visit when plans firm up. 50 years WOW — are we really that old!?

    Reply
    1. debblogs Post author

      Thanks for your comment — this seems to be the case for a lot of fellow bloggers. I appreciate your input as I’m really new at this and still learning. I feel better now!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

