Tag Away

January 30 9:30 p.m.

I suppose I should accept the aging process and grow old gracefully, but I’m having a difficult time with it. I know I should be happy that I’m healthy and not dwell on the new wrinkles that seem to appear overnight and the other inconsequential things that are happening to my body but I’m somewhat self absorbed and may also suffer from obsessive compulsive disorder. Particularly when it pertains to skin tags. I know they aren’t cancerous and won’t kill me, but they are ugly, very prolific and I feel like my body is turning into a skin tag spore factory. (Note: I know that skin tags are not spores but they may as well be.)

I saw a TV commercial a while ago for “Tag Away,” a homeopathic skin tag remover, and thought that it would be a better alternative to the skin tag removal method suggested by a girlfriend. She told me that she would be happy to remove my skin tags by numbing them with ice and then wrapping a thread around them and PRESTO, popping them off. I immediately declined her offer.

I was about ready to order Tag Away but my sister had already gotten some and had an extra bottle (the TV commercial had a two-for-one special). That night, I applied a drop of Tag Away to an obnoxious, nasty looking skin tag on my neck and spent a sleepless night inhaling a pungent odor that made my eyes water and gave me the worst headache I’ve ever had.

I had to wash my bed linen and pillows and I must have washed my neck and face at least a dozen times the next day. I checked out the instructions on the Tag Away bottle and couldn’t believe that you had to apply it “three times a day for a 3-8 week period.” Not gonna happen. The smell would kill me before the skin tags were gone.

So, I Googled the main ingredient in Tag Away, which is thuja occidentalis, and here is what I found:

Yellow Cedar
thuja occidentalis

CAUTION – WARNING

The oil, resembling camphor,
may produce convulsions
in warm-blooded and paralysis
in cold-blooded animals.
I don’t know if this warning pertains to ingesting thuja occidentalis but I think that inhaling the fumes might be just as dangerous.

So, I’m not going to take any chances. I think I’ll try Compound W (for freezing warts) instead. I’ll have to Google Compound W before purchasing it of course and I’ll let my fellow skin-tag afflictled people out there know if it works. Maybe I should reconsider hot-tubbing — the skin tags might melt off . . .

Leave a Reply

