Kudos to Jenny Lawson

January 8, 6:00 p.m.

I am increasingly convinced that posting a photo of myself when I write a blog isn’t reasonable as I have been avoiding writing lately because I know I will have to take a photo of myself. So, I have deemed the self-photo-per-post idea counter productive. Therefore, no photo this time but there will be more in future blogs. Lucky you . . .

I have to admit that I never seriously considered starting a blog until I began reading a book that my sister got me for Christmas. “Let’s Pretend this Never Happened” by Jenny Lawson (the “Bloggess”) is a great book with countless laugh out loud moments (I prefer writing out LOL thank you very much). However, when I first started reading it, I was shocked at how much her “stream of consciousness” style of writing is similar to my own (I know I am complimenting myself – I also know I should not compare myself to JL – I’m just saying that we both have a stream of consciousness writing style). I’ve read several chapters of her book and after reading a few pages last night, I decided that I’m going to have to stop reading it as Jenny Lawson brought up girls using hearts to dot their “i’s” (something I wrote about in my blog entitled Deblog 2013) and she also used the word “penchant” which I used in Debsblogspot Preblog. When was the last time (before this) you said or saw the word penchant?

These coincidences don’t seem like much but I am concerned about them. Please note that all of these blogs are coming directly from my brain to the keyboard. I am a very fast typist so there isn’t a lot of thinking time from brain to fingers. I will be performing some internet searches on topics that may need some fact checking but other than that, these blogs are directly from my brain to keyboard. There is no intentional plagiarism going on here!

And, lastly, thanks to Jenny Lawson for inspiring me to start writing again and to my sister for getting me “Let’s Pretend this Never Happened.”

Also and now lastly, I don’t know why I titled this blog “Kudos to Jenny Lawson” as I hate the word “kudos.” Sounds like a breakfast cereal or a form of marshall art. Also, is there a singular form of the word “kudos”?

One thought on “Kudos to Jenny Lawson

  1. edimminger

    Don’t get too excited, but I put a link to this post in ‘the bloggess’ comments just now. Unfortunately I was comment # 256. Her post today was about writing and promoting good writing and she asked for links so there you have it. Go to ‘the bloggess’ to read her post and scroll down to my comment about you if you want. I just wish I had seen the post sooner.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

